The Art of Chainstore

People don’t just lift weights and jump around in here. We’re a creative bunch, and if you’re going to have chalk and whiteboards around the place, you’re going to end up with an art gallery.

brach

Ah, dinosaurs. Does anyone NOT like dinosaurs? Of course not. They’re awesome. And the only thing better than a dinosaur is a dinosaur that knows how to brachiate. Rock on, Brachiatosaurus.

cow

It’s not just Crossfit 1864 who can have a whiteboard. I don’t know why someone has drawn this delightful and helpfully labelled cow in amongst the weekly challenges and inspirational quotes, but here it is. Please also note the Challenge of the Week stick figure illustrations. That’s just what I looked like when I did the basic version (I’m going for intermediate tomorrow, okay?)

sidefoot

I’m glad you liked my workout. I did try pretty hard but I… I don’t know if I chocolated the sidefoot. I don’t know what that means. Is it a good thing? A bad thing? OH GOD I JUST DON’T KNOW, CROSSFIT. I JUST DON’T KNOW.

hands

Ah, memories. We created this spontaneous handprint art measuring our vertical jumps in Power 101. It’s not every gym that lets you chalkily high-five the wall. I have to admit that without some context, this looks a little bit Blair Witch Project. I’m not sure whether the question written below is from someone confused by the hands or an amateur philosopher.

wall

This masterpiece was created by Georgia, who clearly has way too much time on her hands, and was pretty quickly destroyed by cat leaps and wall runs. While it lasted, though, it was absolutely glorious.

By the way, if you’re planning to create an epic chalk artwork, it’s definitely a good idea to use your own chalk rather than the expensive hand chalk bought by someone else for specific training purposes. Really, really don’t do that. Just thought I’d mention that. Not looking at anyone in particular or any piece of art specifically. Okay? Okay.

smile

Whiteboard magnet emoticons. We need more of this in our lives.

pkgen

And finally, this brilliant rendition of the logo that’s been on this wall since day one. Looking a little scuffed there at the bottom, but still holding strong.

Leave a Reply

